The Areas of Learning

The Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum has recently changed from having 6 areas of learning to 3 prime areas and 4 specific areas.  In light of these changes I've decided to use more broad terminology here that should fit into any curriculum as it changes through the years.  All of our activities fit in to one or several of these areas.  These are detailed below:

Communication, Language and Literacy
Formerly Communication, Language and Literacy now separated into 2 areas of the EYFS

  • Language for communication - listening and attention
  • Language for thinking
  • Understanding
  • Speaking
  • Linking sounds and letters
  • Reading
  • Writing
  • Handwriting

Creative Development
Formerly Creative Development, now Expressive Arts and Design

  • Being creative - Responding to experiences, expressing and communicating ideas
  • Exploring media and materials
  • Creating music and dance
  • Developing imagination and imaginative play

Knowledge and Understanding of the World
Formerly Knowledge and Understanding of the World, now Understanding the World

  • Exploring and investigation
  • Designing and making
  • ICT
  • Time
  • Place
  • Communities

Personal, Social and Emotional Development

  • Dispositions and attitudes
  • Self confidence and self esteem
  • Making relationships
  • Behaviour and self control
  • Self care
  • Sense of community
  • Managing feelings and Behaviour

Physical Development

  • Movement and space
  • Health and bodily awareness
  • Using equipment and materials

Formerly Problem Solving, Reasoning and Numeracy, now Mathematics

  • Numbers as labels and for counting
  • Calculating
  • Shape, space and measures

Like us on Facebook